Valero Alamo Bowl

This site is not affiliated with the NCAA, the Alamo Bowl, The PAC-12, The Big 12, or their respective teams. It is a fan site for Alamo Bowl enthusiasts and is intended for entertainment purposes only. All trademarks are property of their respective owners, and are used for informational purposes only.

Missouri - Northwestern

The 2008 Valero Alamo Bowl is the 16th annual game but only the 2nd annual game sponcered by Valero Energy Corporation.  This will be Missouri's first time playing in the Valero Alamo Bowl, whereas the Northwestern team has played in the Alamo Bowl in 2000 against Nebraska.

The Missouri Tigers' current coach is Gary Pinkel and the Northwestern Wildcats' coach is Pat Fitzgerald. Gary Pinkel has 8 seasons with the Missouri Tigers, where Pat Fitzgerald only has 3 seasons with the Northwest Wildcats. Both teams are closely matched this year in the rankings with Missouri being (9-4) and the Northewestern being (9-3).

This will be the 9th time that the Missouri Tigers have played against the Northwestern Wildcats. The last time they met was in 1987 in Columbia where the Tigers had won with a 28-3 score. Before that they met again in Columbia in 1985 where the Wildcats won with a 27-23 score.


The Alamo Bowl is a National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) game that plays after the regular football season. This bowl game matches up the Big XII Conference's and the PAC-12 Conference's ranked number four teams against each other. The game is and has been held in San Antonio, Texas at the Alamodome every year near the end of the year.


Copyright © 2003-, All rights reserved.