Valero Alamo Bowl

This site is not affiliated with the NCAA, the Alamo Bowl, The PAC-12, The Big 12, or their respective teams. It is a fan site for Alamo Bowl enthusiasts and is intended for entertainment purposes only. All trademarks are property of their respective owners, and are used for informational purposes only.

Ohio State-Oklahoma State

The Ohio State Buckeyes were led into this edition of the Alamo Bowl by second string quarterback Justin Zwick. Regular starter Troy Smith was suspended because he got caught accepting gifts from boosters. In spite of that, wide out Ted Ginn Jr. had a huge game.

Ginn finished with 129 offensive yards and a rushing touchdown. He used his speed and shiftyness to get each and everyone of those yards.

The Oklahoma State Cowboys had one of the most prolific rushing attacks in the nation and were led by Vernand Morency. In the Alamo Bowl, he only managed an anemic 24 yards on eight carries.

Groza Award winning kicker, Mike Nugent added four field goals on his way to scoring the most points in Ohio State history. Buckeyes running back Lydell Ross also added 99 yards on 12 carries as he ended his career in the shadow of the Alamo.

Ginn Jr. earned the Offensive Player of the Game award and Ohio State defensive end Simon Fraser captured the Alamo Bowl's Defensive Player of the Game award. Donovan Woods, Oklahoma State Quarterback, earned the Peter Jacoby Sportsmanship Award.


The Alamo Bowl is a National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) game that plays after the regular football season. This bowl game matches up the Big XII Conference's and the PAC-12 Conference's ranked number four teams against each other. The game is and has been held in San Antonio, Texas at the Alamodome every year near the end of the year.


Copyright © 2003-, All rights reserved.